Sunday, March 29, 2009

My Case of the Mondays or Why I Seem So Bitter Lately

So, last Monday I had the good fortune to get robbed. What a wonderful thing to wake up to! I've made a pro/con list to assess the situation.

First, the cons:
1) Taken:
-Black leather goes-with-everything purse purchased for a fantastic price on sale at Target .
-Inside said purse: similarly fantastic clutch containing debit card, credit cards, checkbook, driver's license, a whopping $7.85 in cash, library card, checkbook, Canon Powershot SD400 digital camera, pair of earrings that go perfectly with a new shirt I recently purchased.
-Older, but still much-beloved wallet containing rarely-used credit cards, Social Security card (yes! I get to wait in line at the DMV AND the Social Security Office!), family photos, Qdoba gift card still good for 8 free entrees, and a friend's note written to me in tenth grade (I'm a girl. I'm allowed to be sentimental.)
-Empty, slightly-more-stylish purse. Goes great with my spring jacket. Built like a tank, this thing has survived falls, spills, and being stuffed until most normal purses would burst at the seams. Was the perfect size for toting around paperback books.
-Pentax ZX-M 35 mm SLR camera.
- Canon EOS 20D digital SLR camera with 8 GB memory card and top-of-the-line polarizing filter. I'm so glad now that I decided not to scrimp on that. Now without a camera to my name, I feel naked.
2) The douchebags had the balls to break in while I was sleeping in the next room
2a) They came in through the sliding door that we never lock. D'oh.
2b) I was apparently sleeping like the dead and b/f was sleeping with earplugs in because our upstairs neighbor stomps around all the time. Convenient.
3) They left the door open. Considerate of them, so as not to wake us up. Apparently it was not enough to rob me, they also wanted to drive our heating bill up.
4) They didn't take anything of my boyfriend's. Just my stuff. Awesome.
5)I am now left with an overwhelming icky feeling, fairly certain they were watching me at some point.
6) Calling out the police to assess the scene caused me to reschedule a job interview. I was not offered the position.

Now the Pros:
1) They apparently discarded all the credit cards after being unable to use them at the self-serve gas pumps. I can only guess that they got hung up on the part where it asks for the zipcode. The zipcode of the house they targeted and physically entered to rob.
2) While $7.85 is approximately 45 minutes worth of unemployment income these days, I'd had $25 in there just the day before. I can deal with the fact that I'll never get my 45 minutes back.
2a) The Starbucks card in aforementioned black leather purse had $0 available on it.
2b) As mentioned, one purse was completely empty, except for maybe a tampon and an Equity Pen. Epic Fail for those guys.
3)Stuff they left behind:
-iPod
-cell phone
-computer (they couldn't lug this thing away if they tried)
-car keys
-platinum and diamond necklace chillin' on my computer desk
4) Aforementioned Pentax camera was on my list of stuff to sell on Craigslist. I was hoping to get $100.
5) Aforementioned (much-loved) Canon 20D was a gift. I didn't personally lose any investment there. Except for the filter.
5a) screw-on attachment for tripod was not attached and therefore not stolen, thus not rendering it completely useless.
6)We didn't wake up, and therefore didn't have any kind of dangerous or otherwise awkward confrontation
6a) While there was clearly entering, no breaking was involved. Thus, no repair bills.
7) The cat , though noticably freaked out, remained unharmed.

One can clearly see that there are more pros here than cons. Obviously, therefore, the idiot thieves did me a solid. Thanks, d-bags.

No comments:

Post a Comment